No time for a full entry! Look at these pretty pictures!

I’ve been taking a lot of pictures lately but these few pertain to recent events at the restaurant.


Summer’s (almost?) over and with it are the fruits of that season. These might be the second best batch of peaches I’ve had at avec, possibly in my life. The first batch of peaches were so juicy and delicious I ate FIVE that day and I was actually holding myself back because they were the restaurant’s peaches. And neither of these peaches were from farmers’ markets; they were the boxed kind from California. What the–?! Day-um, Cali! I eagerly await next summer for another taste of ripe delicious peaches. Anyway, we finally used up the last of these peaches (replacing cherries) in our serrano ham dish. What fruit we’ll use next as a replacement I don’t know…


Meanwhile, our baker has left us and we haven’t managed to find a replacement baker and so Saturday we ordered bread from a bread bakery and (it’s sad that the name escapes me but it’s probably for the best because) THIS BREAD SUCKS. Okay, maybe that’s going a little too far, but case in point, we’ve ordered loaves from them before and the bread goes stale really fast, like same day fast. Another point: how is it that we’ve ordered the same kinds of bread from them before (multiple times) but they screwed up and sent us the wrong kind of bread? You can’t tell but there are 50 large ciabattas in that picture. And it’s Wednesday as I write this. We still haven’t even used half the order yet…. Oy vey…. I predict that the rest of the bread will end up as breadcrumbs….


And another thing!: How is it that even though we’ve ordered from this place on multiple occasions, THEY MISSPELLED OUR NAME?! EVEC? Seriously?

I think I might have heard Koren say that she’d order new bread this week. Let’s hope we don’t get the same kind of bread again!

Speaking of Koren, she did an awesome job on the line. So awesome, in fact, that I drew a manager’s log comic about it. I didn’t take a picture of it yet, but when I do, I’ll post it.

Be on the lookout for more photo entries coming out this week!

